The Graces by Laure Eve was such a weird and awesome book

25365584

The Graces

author : laure eve

pages : [paperback] 432

release date : september 1 2016

favorite character : river

summary :

Everyone said the Graces were witches.

They moved through the corridors like sleek fish, ripples in their wake. Stares followed their backs and their hair.

They had friends, but they were just distractions. They were waiting for someone different.

All I had to do was show them that person was me.

Like everyone else in her town, River is obsessed with the Graces, attracted by their glamour and apparent ability to weave magic. But are they really what they seem? And are they more dangerous than they let on?

This beautifully-written thriller will grip you from its very first page.

review :

This book was so different from what I thought it was going to be and I loved it.

River is an odd teenager. She doesn’t really have any friends, had to leave her old town under mysterious circumstances, and has a weird home life. Her mom isn’t around much but she desperately wants River to fit in. So when River begins to hang out with undeniably the weirdest–and for some reason most popular–family in town, she doesn’t specify to her mom that she’s hanging with the Graces. Rumored to be witches, they hardly ever let anyone into their inner circle. But River’s in, and she wants to know all of their secrets.

I think what a lot of people will find difficult to digest about this book is that River is such an unlikable character. But she’s interesting. Her way of thinking is kind of crazy, so you literally have no idea what she’ll do next–or what lengths she’ll go to in order to impress the Graces or gain their trust. She’s determined to be the one person who’s worthy of the Graces’ times, so it’s obvious that she looks down on everyone. I know a lot of people can’t push through characters like her, but it’s so worth it and I loved reading everything from her perspective because everything was slightly twisted.

While I didn’t exactly not see the plot twists at the end coming (well, I’d guessed a few, not all), I was excited that the book took the turn that it did. Because for so much of the book, it was so cool to see how everything that could have been magical could also have just been pure coincidence. It was like reading two books at once-a contemporary and a paranormal–that come together at the end into something awesome.

I’d definitely recommend this book. It’s so different from anything else that I’ve read, the characters and narrative are awesome, and the building plot is so great.

5/5 stars

 

6 thoughts on “The Graces by Laure Eve was such a weird and awesome book

  1. I’m so glad that I read your review, because the only other review I’ve read of this book wasn’t very positive, and it made me second guess my decision to read it!

    I actually quite like reading books with unlikeable characters, if their unlikeableness is done really well. Which it seems like it is in The Graces!

    I love it when a book could be both one genre or another (like Because You’ll Never Meet Me!), so the fact that this book is like that makes me super excited. Also, owning that cover could never be a negative thing, right?

    I’m super interested to see what the ending is that you speak of!

    Lovely review, dear ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was so good! It’s the kind of book where I could see how it wouldn’t be up some peoples’ alley, but it definitely worked for me! Usually I’m not for unlikable narrators, but this made me think I should reassess that thought because this was so well done.

      Oh, gosh, I just finished Nowhere Near Me and I’m still not over it!!!

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

