Read Code Name Verity immediately if you need a good book that’ll make you cry in public

16250900

Code Name Verity

author : elizabeth wein

pages : [paperback] 339

memorable quote It’s like being in love, discovering your best friend.

favorite character : verity

summary :

Oct. 11th, 1943-A British spy plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France. Its pilot and passenger are best friends. One of the girls has a chance at survival. The other has lost the game before it’s barely begun.

When “Verity” is arrested by the Gestapo, she’s sure she doesn’t stand a chance. As a secret agent captured in enemy territory, she’s living a spy’s worst nightmare. Her Nazi interrogators give her a simple choice: reveal her mission or face a grisly execution.

As she intricately weaves her confession, Verity uncovers her past, how she became friends with the pilot Maddie, and why she left Maddie in the wrecked fuselage of their plane. On each new scrap of paper, Verity battles for her life, confronting her views on courage, failure and her desperate hope to make it home. But will trading her secrets be enough to save her from the enemy?

review :

I don’t even know where to begin with this book. I loved it so much, I know that I should have taken the time to read it years ago, and yet it just tore my heart open reading it.

Code Name Verity is YA historical fiction at its finest. Honestly, I absolutely love reading about the WWII time period because no two books about it are alike and it seems like I’m constantly unconvering new, interesting facts about the time period and the different people living in it. Like these ladies in Code Name Verity, who aren’t real historical figures but do real, amazing things that real women did. Things that would have most people quaking in their boots and then running in the other direction.

This book was very, very hard to read knowing that it was so realistic. Verity goes through so many terrible, traumatic things and she just needs to keep pushing forward because she knows that one stumble, one misstep, and she’s dead. Even if she does everything perfectly, she may still die because she’s in the hands of Nazi interrogators. They aren’t afraid of finding creatively horrific ways to make her talk.

There are so many twists to this book . . . Even when you think that you have everything figured out, know what will happen, and are reading expecting a certain thing to happen, you’ll be shocked. I know that I was. Some of the twists were happy. Some were so terrible that I cried. Once, I was riding the bus and shed a few tears before I made myself put away the book for the rest of the ride. It’s that captivating and harsh and well-written, it’s impossible not to feel ultimately connected to these women.

I not only have newfound respect for the women pilots and spies that risked, gave, and pledged their lives for the war–for the sake of the world, really–I’m desperate to read more about the true stories behind Code Name Verity. If this fictional account was this amazing, I can’t wait to see how inspiring, shocking, and perfectly unconventional the reality was.

5/5 stars

 

5 thoughts on “Read Code Name Verity immediately if you need a good book that’ll make you cry in public

  1. I totally agree with you about this book. I’m not even a big fan of historical, but Code Name Verity was just so extremely special in so many ways.

    I didn’t cry when reading it, but that’s because I’ve only ever cried in a handful of books, but I was incredibly emotional, especially in that particular scene. I wanted happiness for Maddie and Verity so, so much.

    Are you going to read the companion novel?

    And I don’t know if you are aware, but there’s going to be a prequel novel about Verity as a young girl!

    Like

    • Yessss🙂 I love WWII historical fiction, for some reason, and this book just did it for me. It’s been a long while since I’ve cried at something. For this I think it was because, against all odds, I really wanted it not to happen . . . but at the same time, it was a happy thing that it did, because it could have been so much worse.

      I’m definitely going to! I don’t really know much about it, so I’ll probably go into it without much research, but I’m excited for it!

      WHAT?? No, I hadn’t heard about the prequel!

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

