Guest Post: Shannon Greenland, author of Shadow of a Girl

31289841

Hello friends! Today I have an awesome post by Shannon Greenland, author of Shadow of a Girl, which released this week! Check out her own journey to publication below!

  ~  ~  ~

I was never a reader. In fact, if a teacher told me I had to read, it was almost painful. It wasn’t that I couldn’t read. I just didn’t like it. Then one day when I was twenty-five years old, a friend of mine brought me a stack of historical romance novels and said, “Here. Read. You’ll like these.”

With a roll of my eyes, I reluctantly picked one up, flipped a few pages, flipped a few more, and before I knew it, I had read my very first novel and I had enjoyed it! It was Shanna by Kathleen Woodiwiss.

After that, I was hooked. I read every historical romance my friend had brought me and then I headed over to the library. At twenty-five I had my very first library card. And boy did I use it! I made my way through every historical romance I could find and then moved onto contemporary romance and then landed in romantic suspense. Which is where I fell completely in love. To this day The Troubleshooter series by Suzanne Brockmann is still my favorite.

Six months after that reading binge I picked up a pencil and starting scribbling a novel. It was crap, but I was writing. I was writing! I joined Romance Writers of America, started going to meetings, met tons of other authors, and really began to understand the genre from a writing perspective.

My first published novel was with a small press and it was a romantic suspense. I didn’t have an agent, and really had no clue what I was doing. I knew I wanted an agent, I just didn’t have one. Then one night I was at a writer’s conference sitting in the bar, having a margarita and talking with this lady about a young adult spy series I had percolating around in my brain. Little did I know that lady was an agent who I eventually signed with!

Now years later, I have written romance, adventure, thrillers, adult, young adult, and middle grade novels. When I decided to write a new novel, it did not surprise me in the least that I chose a romance. I had just gotten done writing a couple of adrenaline packed thrillers and needed a switch.

I’ve heard people talk about the “book of their heart” and always thought that was such hokey thing to say until I wrote Shadow of a Girl. This book gutted me (and I mean that in a good way). It took a lot out of me to write it, and I have such a personal connection to the story and to my main character, Eve. If I could reach inside the book and give her a hug I would.

But more importantly, my hero, West. Talk about book boyfriend. He is beyond swoon worthy.

I hope you fall in love with Eve and West and their emotional journey. What I love most about them is that they are each other’s compliment. Eve is very quiet and contained and West is very light-hearted and out there. But there is a reason why they are the way they are… If you get a chance, let me know what you think after you read the story. I’d love to hear from you!

~  ~  ~

Thanks so much Shannon!

If you want to find out more about Shannon and her novel, click here!

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

