Reread Reflection: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905

How do you review a book after you’ve already read it? Review the reread!

Hi all. I know it’s been forever, but here I am!

I think that this was my third time reading Fangirl, but I’m not entirely sure. I know this was at least round two, but I’m terrible at keeping track of these things.

Fangirl has been on my favorites list ever since the first day I finished the last page because 1. I’ve never read any story about fanfiction before where it isn’t portrayed as weird/creepy/something out of the box like that. 2. It portrays anxiety SO WELL. Like I’ve never before read about a character and related so much to her. 3. The writing is beautiful and still manages to be fun.

While I wasn’t as enraptured by the romance this time around (probably because by this point I’m out of college and in that sort of reflection stage where I’m like nothing this cool happened to me in four years and Cath gets it all in like four months) I still loved the storyline. I love Cath’s relationship with her family (well, not really, because it’s so imperfect, but I love how it was portrayed). I love how she shows her insecurities about her writing because I’ve experienced that, too. Even people who know nothing about writing or fanfiction will still ‘get’ this book because it’s a story about a college freshman and, more than that, just about a girl who’s trying to understand herself.

So, in closing this book for the third (or second) time, I still find myself loving it and recommending it to everyone I know. I like that I keep finding new things to appreciate about it and I’m sure that, as time goes on, my reasons for constantly reaching for Fangirl to read will keep growing and developing just as much as Cath does in this book.

2 thoughts on “Reread Reflection: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. This was such a lovely collection of thoughts❤

    Even though Fangirl is in no way a sad book, I burst our crying when I finished it because I felt like it had been written about me. Like Rowell knew the inside of my head, and my life, and my love for writing and fanfic, and my fears, and just got them all down on the page perfectly. I don’t think I have ever related to or seen myself so much in a character as I have in Cath.

    Also: your line about everything happening to Cath in four months and nothing happening to you in four years had me laughing out loud because S A M E.😄

    I hope you continue to love this book so much! You’ve definitely inspired me to re-read it and rediscover the reasons I loved it so much.

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

