4 stars · fiction

Me Before You reads exactly like the movie

15507958

Me Before You

Me Before You #1

author : jojo moyes

pages : [hardcover] 369

favorite character : louisa

memorable quote :

You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.

summary :

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

review :

Me Before You was an interesting read for me because I watched the movie first. I know, I know, that’s an extreme sin to some people. But I honestly can’t remember the last time I did that, and then read the novel afterward. Usually when I know that it’s coming, I take the time to read the book long before I get to the theater. Me Before You was a little different because I knew nothing about it before I went to see it. I’d literally only seen the posters for it, knew I loved the lead actor and actress, and it was what my friends wanted to do for the day. I thought it would be a nice, light-hearted romantic comedy.

Me Before You is something . . . other. I’m sure most people know what they’re getting themselves into, but when the “event” happens two minutes into the film, I grabbed my friend and demanded to know what they’d dragged me into. And then sat back for the rest of the ride.

Well, the novel reads exactly like the film. There was a few months’ gap between watching it and reading the book, so there may be some pieces that I’m missing. Altogether, apart from a few chapters of the book that are told in other characters’ perspectives, everything else is exactly like the movie. Which could mean either that the film was a great adaptation and exactly what readers who want every moment of the book included are looking for, or that the writing needed a little something extra. I think both are true. Both, because the plot does translate so well to screen, and I think part of that is because Moyes doesn’t provide us with anything superfluous. No real subplots that would need to be cut from a movie script. No minor characters that only pop in for a chapter or two.

It’s the kind of writing that I know appeals to a lot of people–and it shows, from the popularity of the book. It’s also the kind of troublesome book that is very entertaining, but doesn’t provide much meat for the mind, if you know what I’m getting at. The writing isn’t clunky, or awkward, and manages to make a plot that could have been predictable, entertaining and endearing. But it isn’t exceptional. It does the job, telling the story, without leaving behind much by way of style.

I think it’s kind of like a Nicolas Sparks novel (or at least like several I’ve read by him until they all, I realized, were basically the same), riding on peoples’ emotions for the tragedy of it all. And it works! I enjoyed it. Do I see myself reading the sequel? Probably not, because I don’t really see the necessity of there being a sequel. Would I read another book by Moyes? Maybe, but also a probably not because the back of my book included a few summaries of other novels she’s written and they don’t seem like my kind of book.

Did I enjoy Me Before You? Yes. Would I recommend it? Definitely, for a nice and easy read. But watching the movie was easily just as enjoyable.

4/5 stars

5 thoughts on “Me Before You reads exactly like the movie

  1. I am pretty certain Ill never read this book. Probably because I didn’t ADORE the movie (I don’t think it’s a sin to watch the movie before reading the book. I’ve found some of my favourite books because I watched the movie and then found out it was a book!).

    I know what you mean when you talk about the writing and the plot. I haven’t read a Moyes book, but I’ve read books where I feel that way! Those are books that I find hard to rate and write reviews for because I usually enjoy the story but it doesn’t move me or stick with me in a really incredible way.

    I think the sequel to this is just a: look, she gets a happily ever after all! Which, like you said, doesn’t seem necessary. And it would be kinda weird to ship her with someone else, even given what happened.

    I’m glad you enjoyed it overall, though! And lovely review, as always ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I see! That would be really weird to read her happily ever after–I mean, it was good enough that it was implied here. I always go back and forth on whether I want to read the book first–half of hte time, I’m impatient so that’s why I want to get to the story first, but most of the time I enjoy the movie more if I HAVEN’T read the book beforehand because it makes it easier for me to be immersed in the story!

      Like

  2. I loved your review! I read the book ages ago and couldn’t imagine seeing the movie first. Kudos for your bravery. I’ve been scared the film would ruin the book but…I’ll let you know. I pressed this, hope that’s okay. It was too entertaining to pass up!

    Liked by 1 person

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

