5 stars · paranormal · young adult

The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles

29566060

The Edge of Everything

author : jeff giles

pages : [hardcover] 368

favorite character : ripper

summary :

It’s been a shattering year for seventeen-year-old Zoe, who’s still reeling from her father’s shockingly sudden death in a caving accident and her neighbors’ mysterious disappearance from their own home. Then on a terrifying sub-zero, blizzardy night in Montana, she and her brother are brutally attacked in a cabin in the woods–only to be rescued by a mysterious bounty hunter they call X.

X is no ordinary bounty hunter. He is from a hell called the Lowlands, sent to claim the soul of Zoe’s evil attacker and others like him. Forbidden to reveal himself to anyone other than his victims, X casts aside the Lowlands’ rules for Zoe. As X and Zoe learn more about their different worlds, they begin to question the past, their fate, and their future. But escaping the Lowlands and the ties that bind X might mean the ultimate sacrifice for both of them.

Gripping and full of heart, this epic journey will bring readers right to the edge of everything.

review :

OKAY SO THIS BOOK WAS FANTASTIC BUT IT NEEDS A SEQUEL AND IT DOESN’T SAY THAT THERE’S ONE EVER COMING?? AND THIS BOOK COMES OUT IN JANUARY 2017 BUT I READ IT IN JULY 2016 EXPECTING IT TO BE A STANDALONE, HAVE I MADE A HUGE MISTAKE?

Possibly, because it was fantastic and now I have to wait probably forever for a sequel. This is terrible. This is worse than a hand full of papercuts. This is worse than leaving out your favorite book in a rainstorm.

Okay. So. The Edge of Everything was a book I went into knowing literally nothing about because the ARC I have of it doesn’t have the summary on it. Or at least didn’t print it anywhere I thought it necessary to be. I love going into books knowing little to nothing about them, so dove right in. Or, actually, before bed one night I read the first few pages and then consciously had to stop myself because I knew that if I continued, I’d never get to sleep. That’s how immediately gripping it is. I made an excellent choice, too, because the entire next day I read the book.

The Edge of Everything is crazy. Zoe isn’t a perfect main character (even though I know somewhat about her life, I don’t feel very attached. I don’t really know what her hopes and dreams are at all). But she’s a strong lady. She’s basically been keeping her family together ever since her father died in a caving incident and she’s so great with her little brother, who has ADHD and is adorable and owns a ladybug shaped bed. Through crazy circumstances she meets a young man she names X and their worlds collide.

This is the kind of book where you have to allow yourself to accept star-crossed romance because there’s insta-love all over it. Zoe and X know each other for three days (more or less) and they’re already prepared to move worlds for each other. There are some ways in which this totally makes sense (more for X, with his strange background, than for normal Zoe) and some where I was slightly tempted to roll my eyes. But The Edge of Everything managed to stay on the edge (ha) of becoming too much of a ridiculous romance. Because it became about more than romance. It became a story about finding yourself, gaining freedom, understanding others, learning mercy . . . Ugh. I loved this book so much.

There isn’t much about the different worlds aspect that I can say without giving anything away, so I won’t mention anything at all. I loved going into it and learning all about it through X’s experiences and explanations, so that’s the approach I’d recommend to other readers. Then you can come back here and rave about it to me as much as I just have.

Basically, this book is awesome. It shows everyone is neither fully evil or fully good. It shows how our world looks through the eyes of another. It shows how interesting insta-love can be if you just suck it up and deal with it like I did.

5/5 stars

 

4 thoughts on “The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles

  1. I am pretty sure it’s the first book in the series because I got a finished copy for review and I remember it saying something like “the first book in a fascinating new series” or whatever.

    I was unsure of whether I was actually going to read this (the review copy was unsolicited), but the premise DID sound interesting, and now your positive review has me super keen! The book also has fluorescent orange sprayed edges, which is kind of awesome. And I like the sound of someone just finding a guy and naming him and falling in love with him.

    I think you’ve convinced me, Kayla 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is! After I freaked out about it for a while and posted this to Goodreads, the author commented to confirm, which just made me freak out some more haha!

      You should definitely go for it! Unsolicited review copies sometimes put me off just from the fact that I may never have heard of it/have sooo many other things to read I’ve been looking forward to or requested, but you have to read this. And now I might have to get a finished copy to get those pages, because that’s super cool! The arc was plain as can be haha.

      It’s kind of like the “I name you squishy and you will be mine” except the squishy isn’t a jellyfish and kind of endangers everyone everywhere. 😄

      Yessss you have to! You convinced me to finally watch Yuri on Ice, so now you need to tell me what you think of this book! 🙂

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

