5 stars · fiction · young adult

Nowhere Near You by Leah Thomas IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS OF ALL TIME

30038977

Nowhere Near You

author : leah thomas

pages : [hardcover] 400

favorite characters : ollie & moritz (duh)

summary :

Following up her acclaimed debut, Because You’ll Never Meet Me, Leah Thomas continues the stories of Ollie and Moritz in another heart-warming story of unique friendship.

Ollie and Moritz might never meet, but their friendship knows no bounds. Their letters carry on as Ollie embarks on his first road trip away from the woods–no easy feat for a boy allergic to electricity–and Moritz decides which new school would best suit an eyeless boy who prefers to be alone.

Along the way they meet other teens like them, other products of strange science who lead seemingly normal lives in ways Ollie and Moritz never imagined possible: A boy who jokes about his atypical skeleton; an aspiring actress who hides a strange deformity; a track star whose abnormal heart propels her to victory. Suddenly the future feels wide open for two former hermits. But even as Ollie and Moritz dare to enjoy life, they can’t escape their past, which threatens to destroy any progress they’ve made. Can these boys ever find their place in a world that might never understand them?

review :

THIS BOOOOOOOOOOK.

I don’t know why, but after I first read Because You’ll Never Meet Me and completely and utterly fell in love with it, I never realized that there was going to be a sequel. Then I happened to catch a blog post on one of my favorite blog’s about Nowhere Near You and the happy squealing was immense. When I was contacted to actually read and review this book, it’s a miracle I was actually able to form a coherent sentence to reply to that email. I’m still incredibly awed that I was able to read this book, before it was even published. I don’t think it’s something I’ll ever get over and I plan on keeping this ARC forever after.

I suppose it would help if I could be a little more succinct about why these books are so lovely and important to me. It’s important to note that they’re incredibly different from one another, too. Because I’ll Never Meet You is much more character-driven than the plot-driven Nowhere Near You. Luckily I love both types of stories and getting such different narratives offers not only a well-rounded view of our narrators but an exciting and different worldview. We don’t even know much about the world that’s shown in this sequel until close to the end of the first book. While book one masquerades a bit more like contemporary fiction, book two is science fiction through and through. And it’s amazingly charming and witty in the way it works these very improbable characters into a world just like our own.

Well, not exactly like our own, because then we would have our own Moritz and Ollie. Flawed though they may be, they’ve successfully captured my heart because they’re so incredibly sweet with each other. Even when Ollie is being a rambling annoyance or Moritz is so consumed by his own dark thoughts that he drags down anyone in the vicinity as well. Their friendship (which I know, I know, may possibly turn into more but I’m TRYING not to get my hopes up) is so real. They’ve never met each other. They can’t meet each other. But even through the letters they share, they know one another more intimately than most people have the privilege to ever know another person. They can make each other laugh (I know, with Moritz it seems near impossible). They fight with each other. But they always make up in the end, as stubborn friends tend to do.

There isn’t anything I could honestly say I disliked about Nowhere Near You. It was more than a solid sequel; it would be great wholly on its own. The cover is gorgeous. The characters are gripping. I absolutely can’t wait to see what could possibly happen next . . . although I’m not entirely certain there’s going to be a book three. I wasn’t even expecting #2, so I’ll take what I can get and be happy with it.

I can’t recommend this book enough and know that, once you get your hands on it, you’ll be extremely jealous that I was able to read this beautiful story months before you were. And now you’ll be left itching for more, too. You’re welcome.

5/5 stars

 

2 thoughts on “Nowhere Near You by Leah Thomas IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS OF ALL TIME

  1. OMG YESSS. I am so glad that this is good! I have an ARC, as well, and I am so excited to read it! The first book has a special place in my heart, and I have been waiting for this sequel for So Long. And it is HERE, and the boys are BACK, and just GAH. Your review was so incredibly lovely, and has made me want to ditch all my other books and read it RIGHT NOW because Moritz! And Ollie! And everything about the two of them! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Read it!!!!! It’s so good!!!!! I was flipping out because first of all I didn’t even know there’d be a second book and then it turned out perfect so I’m still stunned about it haha!!

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

