5 stars · fiction · series · young adult

Wires and Nerve was everything I needed in a graphic novel

29772863

Wires and Nerve

Volume 1

author : marissa meyer

illustrator : doug holgate

pages : [hardcover] 240

favorite character : wolf (always)

memorable quote :

“I misread the romantic tension, Didn’t I?”

summary :

In her first graphic novel, #1 New York Times and USA Today bestseller Marissa Meyer follows Iko, the beloved android from the Lunar Chronicles, on a dangerous and romantic new adventure — with a little help from Cinder and the Lunar team.

In her first graphic novel, bestselling author Marissa Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a brand-new, action-packed story about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold. When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers’ leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity. With appearances by Cinder and the rest of the Rampion crew, this is a must-have for fans of the bestselling series.

review :

How could I not love a graphic novel that continues one of my favorite book series? Especially because it means one of my favorite characters, Iko, is going to get her very own happy ending–well, probably. This is only volume one, so who knows what adventures could happen next!

The only thing I hated about this volume was how quickly I finished it, and how long I know I’ll need to wait until volume two.

Let’s talk about the artwork first. I’ve avoided graphic novel adaptations in the past because the images never quite line up with what I’ve had in my mind while I’m reading. The same is true for Wires and Nerve, because most of the character designs weren’t quite what I’ve had in mind. Still, maybe because it’s an extension of the series, it was easier to separate in my mind that this is Iko’s story, and everything else was it’s own entity. What kind of cemented it for me is that the characters still act and talk the way they have in the previous books, so even without the bulk of text that comes with a novel it was easy to feel the characters’ personalities shine through.

This volume made me excited for the series to come because it shows how the world has remained imperfect after Winter. There’s a natural progression in the plot, something for Iko to overcome, and some opportunities for romantic feelings in the future. I absolutely love that Wires and Nerve didn’t focus on any specific relationship with Iko because she’s never really had the chance to be the center of attention before. I’ve loved seeing what her dreams and motivations are–and how much of a badass she is. Iko can really shine and I’m waiting to read more about her!

5/5 stars

 

2 thoughts on “Wires and Nerve was everything I needed in a graphic novel

  1. Even though I’ve only read Cinder and Scarlet I ADORE Iko! And I love the fact that this graphic novel continues her story. I need to finish The Lunar Chronicles now so that I can read this without being spoiled/not knowing what’s going on.

    The art looks really nice but I totally feel you on sometimes not wanting to read graphic novel interpretations of books you love! I am keen on the Legend graphic novels but since I love that series so much I don’t want to taint the perfect images of June and Day that I have in my head *hides*

    So glad you liked this one, and I hope you like the next volume, as well 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yesssss ! You definitely have to read Cress and Winter before reading this because this takes place right after Winter. Fairest is the prequel (and was my least favorite lol) so you could read that anytime. And then the Stars Above short story collection has one set after Winter, but I think it’s also after Wires and Nerve and doesn’t really reference anything that might happen in the graphic novels. The series is so confusing now haha.

      Yessss! When I was thinking about them all I could think of were the Percy Jackson ones (and I reeeeally didn’t like the interpretation in the Lightning Thief) and the Legend ones (which I’ve avoided so far!) I think what makes these different is that this is a new story, whereas the others are just retelling the books?

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

