Uncategorized

The Haters by Jesse Andrews: Maybe I should have DNF’d?

26095121

The Haters

author : jesse andrews

pages : [hardcover] 352

summary :

Do you have a favorite band?

Okay. Good. Unfortunately, it also sucks. And Wes and Corey can tell you exactly how.

There is nothing Wes and Corey can’t hate on. Even bands they love. In fact, they are incapable of loving anything without relentlessly figuring out ways to hate it, too.

And so when they are sent to a place as soul-crushing as jazz camp—which is populated almost completely by competitive maniacs who are trying to seem chill by talking in Jazz Voice—Wes and Corey hate on it with extreme prejudice. Fortunately, so does a girl named Ash, who may even be a bigger and better hater than the two of them combined.

When the three of them run away from camp, start their own band, and go on tour, it seems like a great idea. Except that they are faced with a basically unanswerable question: How can confirmed haters even try to make music that maybe doesn’t suck?

The answer takes the form of a catastrophic, hilarious, romantically tangled road trip from Jesse Andrews, bestselling author of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl. You can feel free to hate on it. But you can also love it, too. Because maybe those are kind of the same thing.

review :

I was super excited to read this book because obviously I’ve read Andrews’ previous book (I don’t know many people who don’t know something about Me and Earl and the Dying Girl) and think he has a really great, unique way of telling stories. Unfortunately this one didn’t really do it for me.

I went into The Haters without knowing too much about it. I briefly read some of the front flap and then dove right in. I have to admit that I know next to nothing about jazz, was surprised to see a contemporary book all about jazz music, and then was a little excited because that’s something new, something cool. And then within the next few dozen pages, all of that disappeared with only a few more references to jazz musicians and not much else.

I think what made it so hard for me to get into this book and the road trip is that there’s no real end goal. Wes himself acknowledges that none of them are actually good at playing music, yet they continue to do so, and they have no real destination in their journey. They all abandon their cell phones because it will be the ‘cool’ thing to do. That’s basically their justification for a lot of the illegal things they do, too. I do like that at the end of this novel, the character need to face real consequences for what they’ve done. That isn’t something that happens a lot in YA so I was actually pleased to see that.

But, at the end of The Haters, I don’t feel like I came away with much else. A lot of the book is taken up by dialogue of Wes and Corey hating on various things, making a bunch of jokes I guess high school guys always make, and then . . . not much else. It just wasn’t the one for me.

2/5 stars

4 thoughts on “The Haters by Jesse Andrews: Maybe I should have DNF’d?

  1. Oh, no. I’m so sorry you didn’t like this one, Kayla! I always feel let down when I reach the end of the book and wonder if it would have just been better to DNF.

    It sounds like this one started off okay but went downhill. The whole “teenagers doing random crap” storylines are ones that never really gel with me, but at least the characters had to face what they’d done at the end of the book. Because real like does have consequences.

    I really hope that the next book you read is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Chiara! Yeah, the real consequences was pretty cool because that doesn’t happen very often, but other than that it was kind of a random book!

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

