5 stars · action · books to movies · Uncategorized

Books to Movies: Logan

I can’t accurately express how completely excited I was for this movie. Wolverine and Hugh Jackman are undoubtedly one of the best character and actor pairings I’ve ever seen. As in if anyone else ever tries to play Wolverine in my lifetime I’ll be disappointed.

It’d been a while since I’d seen any X-Men film, really, but all of them pretty much stand on their own as separate films, which is nice if you really aren’t sure about where to dive into the movieverse. I’d say watch at least a few of the originals before getting to this one because, after all, you want to save the best for last, right?

This review will only contain mild spoilers, but if you want to know absolutely nothing about the movie other than knowing I give it 5/5 stars, get out now.

3a93ba279e21efd6988ece099fa6b29d

Let’s talk about characters. I loved the dynamic in this film, because it makes everyone seem so much realistic, more fleshed out, than happens in most superhero films. As always it was amazing to see the relationship between Logan and Charles, aka Patrick Stewart, because I think they have one of the greatest, most interesting relationships out of all of the X-Men. They’re just so good. I can’t even reflect on it without getting hit by a mixture of emotions, that I don’t think I could accurately explain even if I spoiled everything in the entire movie.

wolverine

Laura. I’m torn between wanting desperately to adopt her, giving her the good life she deserves, and running as far away from her as possible because she’s terrifyingDafne Keen conveys so much while not speaking a word, and as a child actress that’s only more impressive. I want more movies with her. I want a trilogy that’s only about her. Because those fight scenes including her were so intense, I couldn’t sit back in my seat.

k02eqw

Still, what I love about these movies (or just Wolverine in particular) is the tongue in cheek humor that comes with it. Maybe to keep me from being a complete and utter sobbing mess, there are still lighthearted moments perfectly interspersed in the script.

tumblr_mn3dg6yfdh1s5m0l1o1_500

I love that while there’s backstory here, while we know everything that’s going on — behind the amazing action sequences there’s so much character work happening. Between Laura and Logan and Charles, yes, but even minor characters have their chance to shine. And I loved every minute of it.

15261167

That ending? Perfect — perfectly devastating. Everything I’d dreaded and hoped for realized.

Have you seen Logan? What did you think?

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Books to Movies: Logan

  1. I haven’t seen Logan yet, mainly because I kind of hate seeing films at the theatre. Too many bad experiences *shudders* I’ve heard such good things, though, and adore Wolverine, so as soon as it’s out on DVD I will definitely be watching it!

    I find it quite amusing to see how much Hugh Jackman has aged, even though Wolverine lives forever *laughs* I had almost forgotten how perfect he was in those earlier films *heart eyes*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I get sooooo annoyed by people in the theater… but often I’m too impatient to wait until it comes on DVD plus I’m always afraid of spoilers! And I hate that since the theaters near me converted to recliner seats, it’s near impossible to get tickets the day of. o.o

      Hey now… shh. No one needs to think too much about that 😉 I know, I’m really tempted to go back and rewatch them all because it reminded me of just how much I’ve loved seeing him in the films!

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

