Uncategorized

Hunted by Meagan Spooner: fairy tale perfection

24485589

Hunted

author : meagan spooner

pages : [hardcover] 384

memorable quote :

She wept because she did not know what she wanted, and because she wanted everything.

favorite characters :

summary :

Beauty knows the Beast’s forest in her bones—and in her blood. Though she grew up with the city’s highest aristocrats, far from her father’s old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the only hunter who’s ever come close to discovering them.

So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there’s no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas…or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva’s father’s misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he’d been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance.

Deaf to her sisters’ protests, Yeva hunts this strange Beast back into his own territory—a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of creatures that Yeva’s only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?

review :

This book was amazing, this book was everything, the only terrible thing about this book is that there isn’t more for me to read.

Hunted is a retold fairy tale that is so reminiscent of classic fairy tale style. It’s told in an epic, beautifully composed style that really brings these characters and events up to legendary status.

Yeva grew up well. Her father as a merchant has provided everything and more to her and her sisters. More than that, because he had no sign, he indulged her and taught her the love of the hunt. Older now and expected to marry, she’s intended to leave that wilder part of herself aside–until their perfect world collapses, the money is gone, and they’re scrambling to pick up enough pieces simply to survive.

Hunted follows many of the same paths as other Beauty and the Beast retellings, but I absolutely loved how different the Beast and the curse as a whole is here. There are little sections of text from the Beast’s perspective interspersed between Yeva’s chapters, which give a better understanding of him and his own turmoil. I love how there’s so much more of an explanation as to what happened to  him, that led to him being there with Yeva.

I wouldn’t exactly call this retelling dark, but it wasn’t the brightest, either. There are some terrible things that happen, more realistic portrayals of what can happen out deep in the woods.

loved how Yeva was obsessed with stories and adventure. Portrayals of Beauty as a wild adventurer always make me happy, and she was such a strong and complex character. Maybe a little scary, but that just makes her more interesting.

I love retold fairy tales and like to get my hands on any that come out. Still, Hunted ranks as one of my top favorites, so I know I’ll be ranting about this one and pushing it on other people for years to come.

5/5 stars

 

4 thoughts on “Hunted by Meagan Spooner: fairy tale perfection

  1. Ooooo! I need to read this now! I pretty much always add any and all Beauty and the Beast retellings to my TBR, so it IS on there. I just need to get around to ACTUALLY reading it, haha.

    It sounds like there are new and interesting elements added to the classic tale, which is something I always love. As much as I want to see the original story in there, I don’t just want a play-by-play. Otherwise I’d just whip out my Disney movie ;P

    I honestly don’t mind dark retellings AT ALL, so that aspect actually has me excited!

    Have you read Cruel Beauty? I have heard its a really good Beauty and the Beast retelling!

    Lovey review, dear ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YESSSS you need to read it then! I think you’ll like it. 🙂 I think I may have read part of that book before? I want to give it another try because I feel like I took it out from the library and then didn’t finish it before the book was due!

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

