The Art of Tangled by Jeff Kurtti


The Art of Tangled

author : jeff jurtti

pages : [hardcover] 160

summary :

A lighthearted twist on Rapunzel, the beloved fairy tale from the Brothers Grimm, Tangled brims with thrilling adventure, a distinctive cast of characters, a daring heroine, and, of course, seventy feet of golden hair. Featuring the stunning concept art behind the newest Disney masterpiece, The Art of Tangled also includes a preface by John Lasseter, a foreword by Directors Nathan Greno and Byron Howard, and interviews with the artists, animators, and production team—including Art Director David Goetz—that shed light on the history and artistry of this landmark film.

review :

I don’t think it’s possible to put into words just how much I love Tangled. Ever since that movie has come out I’ve been captivated with the characters, scenes, and the fantastical elements of the movie. I’d love to have a career with Disney myself someday and thought that it’d be really interesting to see how the original concept for the movie altered and developed throughout the time that the artists were working on these now familiar and beloved scenes and characters. From the villain to the wonderful lantern scene, everything is explained and shown in detail. I loved getting to see the different stages of brainstorming for everything as well as the beautiful works of art that led up to the actual making of the movie.

This book would be perfect for any fan of the movie or any Disney fan in general. I can’t draw anything but loved getting to read about what the artists went through to capture the personality of the characters and the general themes of the movie within their settings. A reader and a writer can still get a lot of fantastic information from a book like this, especially if they’re a fan, because it shows that these things that are so well known didn’t exactly turn out perfectly the first time around.

I’m definitely going to be looking into getting more of these art books because this is something that I’ll flip through from time to time and maybe learn something new every time that I glance through it. It’s just such a joy to see all of the hard work and dedication that goes into a movie like this, a movie that inspires so many people, like me, in so many ways. It’s easy to tell in every page just how these artists have put their heart into the project.

I really recommend this book for any Tangled fan. It’s a fun and creative insight into the creation of the film that I’ll keep with me forever.

5/5 stars


11 responses to “The Art of Tangled by Jeff Kurtti”

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!