4 stars · fiction · romance · series · young adult

This World We Live In

This World We Live In

The Last Survivors #3
Book 1: Life As We Knew It
Book 2: The Dead and the Gone

author : susan beth pfeffer

pages : [hardcover] 239

memorable quote But it’s our curse and our blessing to remember the past and to know there’s a future.

favorite characters : alex & julie

summary:

It’s been a year since a meteor collided with the moon, catastrophically altering the earth’s climate. For Miranda Evans, life as she knew it no longer exists. Her friends and neighbors are dead, the landscape is frozen, and food is increasingly scarce.

The struggle to survive intensifies when Miranda’s father and stepmother arrive with a baby and three strangers in tow. One of the newcomers is Alex Morales, and as Miranda’s complicated feelings for him turn to love, his plans for his future thwart their relationship. Then a devastating tornado hits the town of Howell, and Miranda makes a decision that will change their lives forever.

review:

I have to say that I’m disappointed with the end of this trilogy. I read the fist book years ago. So long ago that I had a chance to reread it a few times before I even found out there was going to be a second and a third book. I love the concept of this trilogy and know that it’s one I’ll probably read over again but I’m so sad about the actual execution of it. While I understand the author’s choice to make it more of a psychological, character-driven trilogy rather than showing more of the world that has been created after this massive change, I still like the second book most, where we’re told more of what is happening around the country and given a hint as to how the rest of the world might be faring. I would have loved to get more information about that.

Another disappointment about the third installment is that I thought it would be written in the third person like the second book was. Not only did I find Alex’s story more interesting, it’s easy to get tired of Miranda’s understandably self-centered diary entries. And where I thought that there was the potential for very cute, apocalyptic romantic moments between Alex and Miranda, that just didn’t happen. Everything between them seemed so rushed because, much to my dismay, Alex didn’t even show up at her house until halfway through the book.

I do appreciate the book for what it was though I keep getting distracted by what it could have been. Though I definitely recommend this series, it’s one of those where I liked it so much initially and now that I think back on it I just find more and more things that I have problems with. I don’t like being left with that impression but there are too many reasons for me to think about all of the better books I’ve picked up. I think that most people would find The Last Survivors series enjoyable, but get it at the library!

3.5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “This World We Live In

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

