Favorite Book Friday: Valerie from Indecisively Restless


favorite book friday

Hey everyone! Another week has come, and another Friday! This one brings you Valerie, who blogs over at Indecisively Restless! This recommendation in particular is one that I’m VERY excited to share because I love this series, too! It’s one that I started reading a long, long time ago and need to read again. It’s great!

But don’t take my word for it–take hers!

Without further ado, here’s Valerie!

~  ~  ~

Hi Caught Between the Pages readers! I’m Valerie from Indecisively Restless. Books have always been a huge part of my life so I’m more than excited to be here today talking about one of my favorites:

Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty.

Sloppy Firsts is the first in a five-part series about Jessica Darling. Jessica is a junior in high school when her best friend Hope moves away. Since then Jessica has become an insomniac. Hoping that journaling will lull her to sleep, Jessica recounts her worries, pains, and hilarious observations that occur throughout the day. We’re privy to the most inner workings of her mind. From her annoyance to the girls she’s forced to hang out with now that Hope is gone; to the mysterious Marcus Flutie, the school’s bad-boy druggie who seems to keep popping up everywhere. With each day a hardship to get through, will she be able to find someone else to fill the space Hope left?

I love this book because I was Jessica. I didn’t fit in, I had a best friend who didn’t go the same school, and I had a hard time making new friends. But the cringe-worthy moments within the book remind me that everyone feels awkward every once in a while and it’s all about how you deal with it. It’s a great book to laugh and reminisce on all the things that felt so huge and life altering when you were going through them the first time. Things like boyfriends, best friends, best-friends-turned-boyfriends, parental expectations, and your own grandiose ideas of the person you’re meant to be.

McCafferty captures Jessica’s personality perfectly. She’s smart, complicated, witty, snarky, and always trying to figure out who she is. She’s so real that I wish we could be friends. I’m sure that if you’ve ever experienced awkward teenage angst, you’ll love this book. And if you haven’t, consider yourself lucky.

 ~  ~  ~

Thanks so much Valerie! Everyone go check out her blog and say hello to her! 🙂

If you’d like to join in on Favorite Book Fridays, email me at caughtbetweenthepagesblog at gmail.com!


I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!